Lenten Fridays: When there is Suffering

It is the final week of March 2013 and that means the official Holy Week in Catholic countries like the Philippines. In keeping up with this week’s theme, I’m gonna write about suffering. Early in this marriage, I have to admit I don’t know a thing about suffering or how profound its impact is on couples. The only thing I can consider as some sort of suffering is being away from my husband this week (as I am staying with my parents now, pregnant and all – while he’s busy doing his duties in our Manila parish). For just 2 nights being w/o him makes me miss him already. I’m sorry If I always sound like this love-struck wife, hehe.

Anyway, I stumbled upon this post by The Family Woman about the Meaning of Suffering. I think the message is timeless

suffering familyWe can no longer count the many marriages that have been dissolved because one or both partners could not keep up with the suffering any more. And families drifting apart because nobody understood the reason why they had to go through so much pain and sacrifice.

I once read that happiness isn’t the goal of marriage – but the constant, daily consecration of two people bound in marriage. It is meant to sanctify, purify you. And just how can a person achieve that if s/he will be devoid of the character-molding fire of suffering? Faith while suffering is the very element that makes a wife endure what she though she couldn’t. It is dying to oneself that leads a husband to be faithful to his call of servant-leadership in the home.

I do not know how I will cope or react once big trials come our way as husband and wife. All I know is that there is a God who sustains us in all our hardships. A priest once said that people often pray for deliverance quickly, instead of perseverance. What we do not know is that God wants us to persevere and to cling to Him – because that is what will deliver us from everything we go through.

“And He has said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for power is perfected in weakness.” Most gladly, therefore, I will rather boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may dwell in me. Therefore I am well content with weaknesses, with insults, with distresses, with persecutions, with difficulties, for Christ’s sake; for when I am weak, then I am strong.”

– 2 Corinthians 12:9-10

Leave a comment

Filed under Lenten Fridays: Wife Edition

Leave a Reply

