On Sharing Wedding Dates

One of my top pick-me-upper-movie-of-all-time is Bride Wars. I still find it amusing and funny despite watching it several times already. I’m even happy to find out my younger sister (whose just 14) likes it too! We watch it together on some weekends 🙂 My favorite part is when Liv (Kate Hudson) was ranting to his fiance upon finding out she couldn’t fit in to her wedding gown due to weeks of eating buttered pastries. The guy tells her to just get the gown altered, provoking Liv to shout “You don’t alter Vera (Wang)! You alter yourself to fit Vera. God! What do boys learn in school?!” LOL!

Today, I came across a letter from 100 Layer Cake about a bride asking advice because her desired wedding date is pretty close to her best friend’s, but the latter hasn’t made up her mind on location, date of bridal parties, honeymoon plans, etc. She doesn’t want their bridal events to be overlapping.

This is golden proof that girls are 20 steps ahead – always 🙂

Dear ESB,

My best friend got engaged 6 weeks before I did.

I feel that since she got engaged first, she should have first dibs on a date. She has selected May 11th, 2013. But she doesn’t have a location, much less a guest list.

She is somewhat of a procrastinator and now that I have my wedding location locked down, I’d like to lock down a date. I was planning on getting married the last weekend in March or the first weekend of April.

How far apart do I need to space the weddings? I want to make sure that her or my honeymoon doesn’t overlap with the pre-wedding festivities, like the bridal shower, bachelorette, etc.

Waiting in Vain

*****

Obvs, your friend can’t lock down her date until she locks down a LOCATION. And she can’t lock down a location until she knows how many people she’s inviting.

She could fall in love with some crazy venue that doesn’t have availability until August! Or she could procrastinate her little heart out and postpone the wedding a whole year.

I say book the date you want before you lose your effing mind.

Leave a comment

Filed under Great Weekends

Leave a Reply

