Happy and Content at 28

Quiet. Simple. Low-key. These are 3 words to describe my 28th year of birthday celebration on earth. How time flies, soon July will be over and there’s no going back to being 27. I’m old. But here’s my little secret – I always feel like I’m 23…. FOREVER 23!

I love that I was able to celebrate my 28th year as exactly as how I wanted it to be. Chill lang. I stayed at home with my family, read a book, baked in the kitchen, slept over the weekend, and was able to get some perspectives centered. It’s such a welcome retreat after weeks of working, traveling, and moving into a new apartment – for the 6th time in 3 years! My ISP providers are becoming ever more curious why I keep on changing my billing address.

Anyway, here are some shots of my relaxing birthday weekend. I have never been this domesticated 🙂

Family Time – sharing my baked goodies!

It’s supposed to be Red Velvet Cupcakes but I think I overdid the cocoa, so it kinda turned out to be dark-scarlet-red-but-real-yummy-cupcakes! I must say my choco-cream cheese frosting is improving, don’t you think? 🙂

Oh my mother did some baking too – baked macaroni. And they bought me the Ultimate Chocolate Cake from Red Ribbon. It was heavenly!

Downtime – with my favorite reads.

I have finished reading it before, but since I wanted to get some perspective now that I am officially at the tail end of my 20’s, I reread God Never Blinks. I find its stories’ insights universal and relevant for whatever age you are in.

And recently, my credit card debuted in Amazon.com to download the Kindle version of the “Dinner with a Perfect Stranger“. I highly recommend this book to anyone seeking some answers to their God-questions. It’s an intelligent book, not a highly religious one. If you think you’re not that spiritual, take a chance on this one – you’d be surprised that you liked it. 🙂 I even found myself sneaking to read it during lunch breaks. It’s an easy yet a thought-provoking material.

Living only with what’s important.

As I have mentioned, I have moved yet again into a new place – the smallest apartment I ever got in all my 6 years of packing and repacking boxes. I opted for a smaller space because it’s cheaper – and easier to clean! Consequently, I had to cut down on my stuffs and REALLY look down into my truest essentials. I did giveaway some of my clothes and books to my community. I never thought I accumulated that much in my years of being a single person. I felt both relieved and excited of the thought of starting anew.

Here’s my teeny-weeny apartment with all my essentials packed in a corner. But I so love my new place! It’s very cozy and it has a small veranda just outside the back door. It’s nice to sit out there during lovely candle-lit evenings 🙂 I am staying at the 2nd floor of the building.

With a smaller apartment and less things to deal with comes the best reward – lower maintenance and bills for me! Since I had my eyes set on something bigger, better, and more permanent – I have joined my friends’ bandwagon of cutting back on expenses to afford an investment. I love this thing going in my life now. It’s like some new-agey stuff I’m into. HAHA!

But seriously, knowing what’s most important for you has a rejuvenating effect on your soul. Less baggage to carry – literally and figuratively.

So what is it with being 28?

  • Society, family, and well-meaning friends urging you to launch the wedding planning bonanza
  • Getting judged prematurely on whether you have enough money to say you’re “stable”
  • You’re old. Period.

But for me, I can only be very thankful to God:

For that peace that comes from knowing what truly is more important, and;

The confidence that in whatever season or age I’m in – He’s mightily in control of everything as all are running according to His plan.

And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose. – Romans 8:28

2 Comments

Filed under Great Weekends, Quarter Life, Spiritual

2 responses to “Happy and Content at 28

  1. Beautifully said. Those last lines–soon you’ll realize that you’ll be saying those very same words 5, 10 years from now. 😉

    Happy birthday (again) Romzki! 🙂
    Now when will I ever have a taste of those cupcakes??

  2. Thanks, Riz! God is truly constant in being good to us 🙂
    Cupcakes! Dadalawin ka namen nila Joni+Beng some time, magdadala ako for you and the twins haha!

Leave a Reply

