Happiness

Can I just say that I’m genuinely happy with my life right now? Yes, this is another feel good post. But I just want to share the teeming river of contentment and gratitude I feel within simply because it overwhelms me.

At this age (proud to be 28 in a few months), I am blessed to have finally come to a point when I can honestly answer the question: what makes me happy? There is a difference between being happy because of something external, versus being happy because you know why and what causes it. I feel like I have stopped the search for that pot of gold at the end of the rainbow because I am fully content with the sunshine and the rain around me.

Maximized Potentials

I define my happiness as the realization that yes, I am fulfilling my calling. A lot to do with this is my career. Not so much because of the monetary figures, but more on the opportunity to use what has been given to me, to do what I am good at – and (a plus factor) is the fact that I am working with good people and my closest friends – everyday.

Better Relationships

No matter how successful we get, the quality of our relationships is still the bottom line. When I think about it, rather than whining about what I cannot yet achieve in life, I should be basking in the glory of having a good family, a loyal set of friends, and by just being in the right relationship. You know at this age, it means a lot when you have finally reached the conclusion (with eyes and mind wide-open) that indeed, you are with the right person. I cannot be happier.

Developing Character

I’ve made up my mind this Lent to fast from burning my fuse. Sure, we all get angry for different triggers – but I’d like to keep my stress button hidden somewhere far, far away that I will no longer be aware it ever existed. I still do get furious especially when faced with hurtful situations, but I am vowing not to burn the whole house down because of my lack of self-restraint. I think this has done some good in my relationships with people, as well.

To finally know what makes you happy is the first step to contentment. I still have that dream of working “Down Under”, but if it doesn’t come – I’m perfectly fine with it. As long as I have that work-life balance, pleasant relationships, and that peace of mind we all long for – I’m good. I’m okay. I am happy.

But most of all, I am in complete gratitude because I have a great God.

Luke 1:46. And Mary said: “My soul proclaims the greatness of the Lord;

 

2 Comments

Filed under Quarter Life Rants, Spiritual

2 responses to “Happiness

  1. joniang

    Love it, Pomski! I’m happy that you are happy! Have I told you yet how happy I am that you’re back? haha many times na. Let’s conquer the Gil Puyat Ave SEO world together! :))

    Amen on that last line! God is good!🙂

  2. Ang kuleeeet :)) “Gil Puyat Ave SEO Consultants” is the keyword, LOL!
    So great to be back talaga! Looking forward to our EPL

Leave a Reply

