Surrender at 27

Yes, 27 years of BEAUTIFUL existence. Happy birthday to me!

I’m entitling this post as such because I feel this is the Lord’s message to me, especially the past few weeks. It really is a good point to remember not only today but whenever I get caught up in my own worrying and faulty decision-making skills. I’m only human.

I love to dream. And to the best of my ability, I make sure they come true. But sometimes, our dreams and plans fall short of what is truly reserved for us. On that part, it becomes the most challenging to me – to accept that there is something much better, bigger than what I can ever dream of.

And to surrender to that which beyond my imagination is hard. I for instance would always say that I will certainly do my best, and would leave to God the rest. But after not getting what I want, I whine and complain without understanding that part of my decision to surrender is to accept the outcome for whatever it is. I realized after reading this week’s reflection that to surrender is to mean that:

1. You are open to God’s version of your dream. *Jeremiah 29:11

2. You let go of your own timetable and just leave it up to Him. *Ecclesiastes 3:1

I learned that if your dream consumes you to the point where you think you will never be happy unless you get what you want – that is not surrendering.

For the past weeks I felt so unsettled, and disturbed inside. It’s as if something is lacking in my life despite the numerous blessings… like I do not wish to function daily unless that thing I want is finally given to me. And that is SAD.

And real exhausting.

So today on my 27th year, I have decided to surrender more of me and more of my plans to Him. Let it be that the more years added to my life, the more shall I give my trust completely to God.

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding.” 

– Proverbs 3:5 

1 Comment

Filed under Birthdays!, Career Life, Glorious Wednesdays, Quarter Life Rants, Spiritual

One response to “Surrender at 27

  1. Pingback: Happy and Content at 28 | roaming around with romela

Leave a Reply

