What’s next?

For weeks I’ve been bugged with so much concern over the question, “What will happen next?” I understand when people say worry won’t help and would actually generate more anxiety in the present situation. But sometimes all these unexpected changes can take its toll on my self-preservation efforts that I end up waking up way ahead of my morning alarm hour.

I’ve been facing off with thoughts about growing up and moving forward. It feels like I’m the next person to take the step in a queue. Every one’s expected to move and take on the next level, lest life leaves you behind. Is this a phase one has to undergo many, many times? ‘Coz trust me, I’ve been here before but it still feels like the first time (same scared ass!). Oh how true that CHANGE is the only thing that remains constant.

There is one thing though that proves to be more challenging (well, for me) than adopting to change. It is WAITING. To stay put is an agonizing task, especially when you want to get it over and done with. While I trust that God will lead me to a place outside my comfort zone but one that is right for me, it is just human nature to ask what’s next, what lies ahead. It makes waiting even worse when you sense that it’s really all that is required of you for now…

So what now for a twenty-something like me who needs to make choices while she wonders about keeping her career stable, saving enough for the future, and making sure she’s with the right person?

Tell me, it’s just a phase.

“Be still and know that I am God.” – Psalm 46:10

Leave a comment

Filed under Quarter Life Rants

Leave a Reply

