Home Made Easter Treats

I almost felt guilty looking at these pictures, yet I know in my heart I have to post them here. 🙂

The long-break for Holy Week gave me and my brother an unplanned cook fest at home. He did the pasta, while I made desserts. Of course, I will only post my recipes here, hehe. So much for fasting on Holy Week.

Home-Made Vanilla Ice Cream

I actually copied this recipe from Karen Cheng. It’s so easy you do not need to go through all that salt + ice + zip lock + shaking thing. I just used mom’s electric mixer.

  • Mix 600ml premium cream + 200ml condensed milk. Add the milk gradually.
  • Put in 2 tbsp vanilla.
  • Freeze for 12 hours.
  • Top with yummy chocolate syrup.
  • Include a piece of fried Oreo-pancake cookies: here’s how to make that.

Home-Made Smores

I love the display of colors there. My little cousins absolutely adored them!

First you need:

  • A bag of marshmallows
  • Dark-chocolate bars: Goya did well for this recipe
  • Crushed Graham crackers – you put the crackers inside an ice bag, then you crush it!
  • Candy sprinkles (optional)
  • Popsicle sticks

Procedure:

  • Boil water in steamer. Then put steel bowl above it.
  • Put in broken pieces of dark choco onto the steel bowl. Be careful not to have water mixed with the chocolate. Let it melt.
  • Stick popsicles onto mallows.
  • Dip mallows into the melted choco.
  • Roll into crushed graham and candy sprinkles.
  • Let it dry. They dry and stick together quickly!

I covered them in colored cellophane and tied a bow + a “Happy Easter” tag to each.

After our Easter-egg hunt, kids got these as their prizes.

Home-Made DIY Cake

Of course I don’t bake so mom just bought me a nice blob of chiffon cake to experiment on. It was my youngest sister’s birthday. The cake suits a 4-year old, but she actually turned 12 this year, hehe. She loved it anyway.

What was DIY? The sugar icing! Recipe given by my chef-friend, Bengkie.

Here’s how to do it:

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 cups confectioners’ sugar
  • 2 tablespoons milk

Directions:

  • In a large bowl, cream together the butter, and vanilla.
  • Blend in the sugar, one cup at a time, beating well after each addition.
  • Beat in the milk, and continue mixing until light and fluffy.
  • Keep icing covered until ready to decorate.

So there! If you’re so bored at home or you just want to give everyone a good treat, make one of these not only during Easter but any other day perfect for celebration.

Leave a comment

Filed under DIY, Random Cooking

Leave a Reply

