Girlfriend Rant

When I was still unattached I would often dream of the day when I would finally be out travelling and visiting places with my boyfriend. I thought to myself, oh how great it is to have a travel buddy with you as you both explore the other side of living (yes life outside work, in other words.). I often envied other girls who seem to have a ready set of itinerary and booked schedules to make room for couple quality time.

But now, I just feel ever so frustrated 😦

Three months and we’ll soon hit our 1st year anniversary. Ecstatic yes, but frustrated too. See, we’ve been going out on quite a few out of town trips during the span of this romance. What you see in the pictures over my Facebook wall are fun, happy, and sweet moments of togetherness. May it be on the beach, plane or somewhere outside of Metro Manila.

on our way home from Legazpi Airport via Cebupacific

What you don’t see are the frantic moments of me in utter desperation before a trip and in-between tours: Always reminding him not to forget his tooth brush, wallet, cell phone + charger, shampoo, shaver, keys, etc. etc. The list goes on!

Well at first, I enjoyed being the doting girlfriend. But after a while, when it has already seemed to be a regular thing – yes, each time we leave my apartment I would ask him if he has his phone, wallet, keys, and the long list begins.. Again! And oh, there’s an addition to the checklist: the USB where he stores all our pending outputs for demanding clients. And the USB gets forgotten most of the time, as well. How cool.

You are absolutely right in thinking I have just gained a new kid to take care of. Heck, I’m not even a mom yet!

Sometimes I wonder if it is going to be like this eternally once I decide to spend the rest of my life with him. It’s real exhausting. Not to mention the fact that it’s not doing any good, given my control issues.

Don’t get me wrong. I do love my boyfriend loads and loads – PMS or non-PMS days. I know I am one of the few to be so blessed with such a patient and OBEDIENT guy beside me. But sometimes, I wish I can be the one on the other side of the fence. I’d like to be the one being taken care of. I wish he’ll take more of the I’m-taking-charge-leave-it-to-me,-darlin’ role. That’s how men are supposed to be, anyway.

2 Comments

Filed under roaming and ranting

2 responses to “Girlfriend Rant

  1. Sarj

    Hahaha. Friend, bakit ngayon ko lang to nabasa? Kaloka! :))

    I know I’ve mentioned this before (over and over again)… but if you get out of traveling, living together and managing joint financial resources ALIVE. That’s when you know you’re compatible with each other or not. 😛

    I’m not in the last stage yet (medyo lang…) pero walang issues sakin. Ang issue lang lagi eh ang pagkabugnutin ko. So, advise to all the girls…keep your cool! 🙂 Relax and don’t sweat the small stuff…unless it’s really really important to talk about (or fix). 😀 Don’t worry, it takes time to master it…kaya ako di pa tapos sa ordeal na ‘to. hehe 😉 But everyday, I don’t just keep it in mind but I try to do it. 🙂

  2. Hey friend! Talagang ikaw ang hinihintay ko mag-comment coz I know you have more experience on this than me haha!

    “Relax and don’t sweat the small stuff…unless it’s really really important to talk about (or fix).” –> yes, it’s quite challenging to master. Ako din temperamental due to my OC-nesss…. but I guess, I just have to make-do with accepting the fact that he can’t be as efficient as I am in multi-tasking and getting 2 steps ahead of things. And we both need to be trained to be more tolerant of one another (especially me haha!).

    I know you’re doing a great job in keeping you and Andrei’s sanity in check! Good luck friend, let me know when you’ve reached the final stage of success! 🙂

Leave a Reply

