Home over Office

Today, I have decided to work from home since the holiday falls on a Tuesday – which means Monday (a working day) is squeezed between the weekend, and a holiday. I can only be grateful to my boss who allows a work-from-home set up every now and then. The challenge really is for me to work more productively inspite of the lure of the TV and bed.

The Work-from-Home Scenario

Two years ago, I did a work from home job. It had a lot of advantages because it not only paid well, but I had my expenses reduced. No fast food chain visits. My mom cooks my meals. No sudden-shopping sprees because I do not pass through malls unlike when I commute to Makati. The best part is, I had full control over my time – taking into consideration my “productive hours” versus my “hapuntukin hours”. Working from home also gave me an opportunity to try other things like an online business of my own, and I was able to help the family set up our own laundry business. However, just like everything in life, nothing is perfect – hence the down side of not being able to talk and bond with people my age. No coffee dates, or girl friend ‘presscons’ over lunch. It stunted that aspect of my growth, I must say.

Office Life today

After much thinking, and an offer from a good friend, I have now returned to the office life! It’s been so much fun but of course the hassle of daily commute and Makati-induced expenses have returned! I’m not complaining though, I love my routine and the friends I have in the work place. Though lately, I’ve been thinking of how it’s gonna be like 2 to 3 years from now.

How about in the Future?

Probably, I would be starting a family of my own when that time comes. And as we all know, most wives or moms today would prefer a work-from-home set up so they can take care of the family. There’s nothing like raising your own child to become a better citizen one day. I strongly believe (and encourage!) the improvement of the race. Hence I’d rather stay home and work on my kids, instead of losing all 9 hours of the day over a job. However, given the economic demands of family life, one can’t help but consider the cost that comes with it. My fear is that I may not able to get an equally good-paying opportunity once I decide to work from home. I know it sounds crazy to be too much worried way, way ahead of time. But I can’t help it. You see I’ve been checking several telecommuting jobs, mostly writing gigs, and they what? Pay you like $2 per 500-word article?! Ano yan less than a hundred pesos??

Outsourcing has done a lot of good to the Philippines, but I do hope they would look into the quality of our service rather than choosing to discount. Not only will it do good for their brand, but moms will be equally happy 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Career Life

Leave a Reply

