Glorious Wednesdays: Heaven and Home

Heaven is neither America nor China. Heaven is where one finds not only the means to survive but the very meaning of survival and life.

That is from our famous running-priest Fr. Robert Reyes. I wish the CBCP would take him in now to say homilies. He’s a good and effective priest, I believe.

Today in our Glorious Wednesday post, I am featuring his blog about “Heaven  and Home”. I often talk with my IT friends about leaving the country to work in  greener pastures. But there seems to be a nagging desire to just keep our feet  here in the Philippines. Who knows, we could be losing our jobs if we go abroad  since most web-based jobs are being outsourced here in Asian countries like the  Philippines and India. Apart from that concern, the country is home to our  family and friends – the comfort zone that we know. Sure life is difficult here, but  survival is more meaningful because you are being called to share to those in  need (which are a big chunk of our population).

Anyway, here is one favorite part from Fr. Robert’s post on “Heaven and Home” written at Parokya on the Web:

When I was in China I pined for the motherland. The feeling of being a foreigner, an outsider, intensifies this longing. While I lived and worked in China, my inner eyes seemed to look further, beyond what my physical eyes saw. In fact, during the many times I prayed and closed my eyes, I did not see heaven. I saw what was around and within me. Heaven can be an escape, an alienating thought that allows us to avoid responsibility for our lives. Thus Jesus tells Nicodemus, “No one has ever gone up to heaven except the one who came from heaven, the Son of Man.” Here, Jesus reminds us to look hard at where we are and at how we live our lives where we are. Let us not waste our lives pining and wishing for what is not there and doing nothing more. For Jesus, heaven was always near. It was that moment of connection and union with His Father. It was also those many moments when He fulfilled His Father’s will where He was and with those around Him.

Dear Lord, teach us to find you not out there but right here where we live and work. Teach us the way Jesus lived, totally present and totally responsive. Teach us to live with faith and hope, without illusion, without desire to escape. Amen.

4 Comments

Filed under Filipino, Glorious Wednesdays, Philippine bloggers

4 responses to “Glorious Wednesdays: Heaven and Home

  1. I like the prayer in the end, friend. This should be *our* prayer, too.

    Patok ang Glorious Wednesdays! I always learn something new 🙂

  2. yeah, me like the ending prayer too, especially the part “without desire to escape.” 🙂

    Thanks for liking Glorious Wednesdays –> friends talaga tayo hihi 🙂

  3. I don’t know If I said it already but …Great site…keep up the good work. 🙂 I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

  4. Thanks so much.. this is so inspiring 🙂

Leave a Reply

