july presscon: i’m single again!

A good friend shared a link from the Quarter Life Lady, and since then I’ve been ever inspired by her posts. I particularly like her Read Advice section, especially the part when she says (read below). It just struck a chord in me… felt like a confirmation that I just did what has to be done…

No one wants to waste her time in a relationship that isn’t going anywhere. With this in mind, my best advice is to pay attention to the red flags that indicate that he isn’t a good fit. Many women would save themselves a whole lot of heartbreak if they accepted the red flags and continued their search for a better fit.

Amen to that, ladies.

When you’re in your mid 20’s you start off thinking where you want your life to go. You just happen to  self-evaluate. Some would claim they would undergo the process of  “life-evaluation” because you have never been so sure that now is the time to take charge of your future. Sometimes this process entails a break-up heart-break.

I’m not very good at break ups. In fact, I cannot stand face-to-face “we-need-to-split-up” drama before. Even if it was a mutual decision, the guy would often be the one to drop the right words. I sugar-coat things so I just leave this up to them.

Recently was a bit different because I think I was straight-forward and logical when I dropped the bomb. I don’t think I was harsh too, just serious. And I’m proud to say I made my point to be fully understood. It was, afterall, not a bad break up. It was different from all the others (mga sampu sila, jowk 🙂 )

Apart from this, I think the most distinct thing about my recent repeat-contract with “Single Records”, is that I truly feel deep in my heart that it was the right decision, and I have nothing to regret about it. Some women are regretful after a break up. They think of all the “what-could-have-been’s” and all that “sayang” stuffs. Not to mention the endless worry if they will ever be married or just remain single forever! This time it’s different for me. Maybe it’s due to the fact that I am transitioning, or I got fed up. Either of the two, I still believe I have the right reasons.

I thank the Lord for all His patient help to me. Knowing that I am someone who normally cannot stand for her decisions especially when it involves her emotions, I think God really held me tight on this one so I won’t back off. More than that, it is His assurance that He is in control of the situation and that He has our best interests in mind gave me the peace I can only imagine and desire for during a heart break period. No point to question or to regret.

If you think about it, maybe God was just saving me from myself. 🙂

5 Comments

Filed under roaming and ranting, The Most Important Word

5 responses to “july presscon: i’m single again!

  1. Riz

    Uhm, Congrats? 🙂

    LOL. I really meant to comfort you and tell you it’s going to be okay and all that jazz. But it doesn’t seem like you need comfort more than you need a tap in the back for a job well done. So congrats, Romz, for making a decision for yourself and standing firm. 😉

    On another note, I have a new blog at http://www.chasingdreams.net, LOL, nagplug pa e — you know, because it’s the season of “moving on to better things” 😉 Change your liiiinkkksss! I’ll add you to my roll too. 😛

  2. W00t! you did it, friend! At least one of us had the balls to actually do it, figuratively speaking. haha! Congrats!!! I can’t wait for the impending new lovelife to happen!!

  3. ahahaha! “impending” talaga eh noh? parang impending period lang. Lolz!

  4. Thanks for the link love. And you’re right…breaking up is so hard! I wish you the best as you transition into singleness…which can be an extremely fun and exciting time! Remember that.

Leave a Reply

