Officially 24, hay!

This is the start of those years when you don’t wanna recognize you’re turning a year older haha! It felt like time is really out of my hands. It turns its wheels just on and on. But as they say, age is just a number especially for the young at heart 🙂

I’d like to share some of the little, childlike things I still love and enjoy. Indeed, the simplest things can be the sweetest.

  1. Taking pictures of daisies and mums. Daisies are the friendliest flowers (Meg Ryan, You’ve Got Mail)
  2. Walking on cool shady afternoons with just about anyone. Pleasure walking releases so much stress in me.
  3. Panic buying on second-hand paperback books with lovely covers and big letters when you read.
  4. Buying floral-printed flipflops in Baclaran.
  5. Keeping movie tickets of my boyfriend and I and handing it to him (coz I know movie dates mean a lot to him)
  6. Sitting in the front yard every 4pm to check how tall our Calamansi tree has grown.
  7. Doing my sisters’ pig tails and braids.
  8. Going crazy over homey plastic wares (I swear I cannot resist the drive to buy one!)
  9. Sitting on beautiful bed sheets on mall sales, even when it says, Pls. don’t sit.
  10. Reading a good book before I sleep.
  11. Reading unknown, yet beautifully designed blogs.
  12. Owning recycled notebooks with blank sheets.
  13. Staring at family photos
  14. Scrapbooking
  15. Making my favorite iced tea
  16. Teasing a baby while inside the church (I know this is wrong hehe!)
  17. Collecting post-its of varied colors and shapes
  18. Having coffee with my most intimate girlfriends (you know who you all are)
  19. A warm tight hug with our *bunso*
  20. Dozing off on his shoulders 🙂
  21. Catching star fishes by the beach
  22. Sprinkling cinnamon on hot coffee
  23. Listening to old country-style music
  24. Stealing a kiss 🙂

It wasn’t as hard as I thought coming up with this list. Maybe it is true that when you think about it, it is these simple little things that we remember and cherish in life. They say we don’t remember dates (just as I’m forgetful about birthdays and anniversaries). What we recall instead, are moments, the simple gestures, and all those that felt good inside.

Knowing that life is a collection of lovely little things can then make aging a much welcomed phenomenon.

PS: A heartfelt thank you to all the sweet people – friends and families, etc, who greeted me. And yes, thank you dear Lord for another year to walk with you (even if I often make a diversion from your road. Hehe)!

Last, to you who made my 24th birthday sweeter, thanks hon 🙂

)

me and hon on my 24th bday 🙂

4 Comments

Filed under roaming and ranting

4 responses to “Officially 24, hay!

  1. lovely blessed girl.. i mishu sis…

    i know that you are still God’s little princess. 🙂

    Stay and walk your faith with him.

    happy birthday…and i love you frend 🙂

    *hugs and kisses*

  2. Sweeeet naman da photo…hehehe! happy birthday, friend! Thanks for making me laugh (and cry?) every time we chat in YM. Hehe. Here’s to another year!! God bless! 🙂

    Regards ky Manny P.!!! 🙂

  3. Happy birthday to you! Many joyous returns, sis!

  4. @ Karen,Joni, Ganns: Thanks for the greetings! Mwahnesss!!!

    @Joni: Baliw ka na naman! hehehe!

Leave a Reply

