My Alma Mater Inspires Me until Now

I feel bad I wasn’t able to post anything about summer here in the country. Just so you know, our Mindoro trip – a supposed to be beach vacation in Calapan was canceled last weekend for obvious reasons – the storms ‘COSME’ and ‘DINDO’. It caused such dismay among us DWH friends, but still we are thankful that ‘cyclone’ thing didn’t happen a bit to any of our homes.

So according to PAG ASA, it isn’t the rainy season yet in the Philippines. Given that we are in the typhoon belt, it’s just normal that we experience storms once a month. Rain for me spells less gimmicks and dinner dates. For one, it’s terribly difficult to catch a cab in Makati on rainy days (aside from Friday nights). And another thing about rainy is well, for students, school.

It’s been 3 years since I graduated from college, that when I think about my challenges then, they were so “sisiw” as compared to the pressure of the real world. It was good training though, that communication students average about 3 papers to submit in a week. At least now, blogging is not that much of a challenged. You just need the time to do it.

Going back to the topic of this post (supposedly), I’d have to agree with most people who claim that how they were molded has so much to do with the values of their alma mater. I cannot totally say I am adhering to my alma mater’s values and principles 100% of the time. But the principles taught in UP like excellence coupled with integrity continue to inspire me to go on with my endeavors especially when I wish to quit.

When we take exams in UP, we have this blue book where we write the answers to the test questions. It says there on the front logo: Academic Excellence * Integrity. That means well for me, “no cheating”. Integrity nga eh. And of course, your best shot as an Iskolar ng Bayan to live up to academic excellence.

But for me now, it all boils down to doing anything – whether a simple task or a big job with excellence. As my professor tells us, “You don’t have to be perfect in everything – just excellent.”

Until now that quote still rings a bell. My alma mater that has shaped me remains to be an active inspiration.

Does yours also?

(that means I’m tagging you! Haha! No link love needed… Joni, Keyren, Riz, Sarj, Reah, Kelly, Bheng, Anna, Em-em, Gurlalien).

8 Comments

Filed under roaming and ranting

8 responses to “My Alma Mater Inspires Me until Now

  1. whaaaaaaaaa… na tag ako! nyahahaha… πŸ˜€

  2. Hehehe! Minsan lang naman πŸ™‚

  3. so ano na gagawin ko? nyahahaha… n()()b

  4. frendship: How are you being inspired by your Alma Mater. —> mag chat ba sa blog? Hahaha!

  5. ahhhh… ganun pala yung tagging.. hahaha… now i know… teka mag iisip pa ako ng entry eh… :p

  6. Booo… Walang link love.. booo πŸ˜›

  7. hahahaha! Spammer ka kse! Tamad ako maglagay ng link eh… di bale nektime may anchor text ka pa frendship πŸ˜€

  8. Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation πŸ™‚ Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Uremic.

Leave a Reply

