Weekend Cookies

The weekend was long and fun for me. Instead of hitting the keyboards and the World Wide Web, I immersed myself in the kitchen to do some cooking. Of course, the amateurish glare of the food was all over the creations I’ve made, but they were all edible (and tasty!) I must say. Hehe!

I tried doing:

Nido soup with egg, brocolli, potatoes, and mushrooms

Galrlic-y potatoes and mushrooms in cheese and butter sauce

Mashed potato with gravy (can’t I cook without potatoes???)

And the best of all: Home-baked Cookies!

Yup, I love the cookies. I did the choco-raisin variant last weekend. It wasn’t perfect though but at least I’m getting there haha!

The Recipe:

1 pack Magnolia Pancake mix (a product from San Miguel c/o Dad – it was his birthday last Monday!)

1/4 to 1/2 cup vegetable oil- depends on the consistency of the batter

1/2 cup Ricoa powder or Milo

1/2 cup sugar (brown or white will do)

1 medium pack raisins

some candy sprinkles πŸ™‚

How to do it:

In a bowl, mix everything else except the candy sprinkles. Form into balls then flatten. Grease the oven pan with thin butter (you can use cookie sheets), put on the flattened dough(s), sprinkle with candy. Bake for 5 minutes. After 5 minutes turn off the oven but let the cookies stay inside for 1 more minute to make the dough harden.Β  Remove the cookies inside then wait for about 20-30 minutes to allow them to cool off. This is highly important.

2 weeks ago, my cookies looked like this:

77a90150.jpg

All too soft and terrible hehe! But now after a week of perfecting the craft, they’ve turned out like this:

77b50151.jpg

Conclusion: Practice makes perfect – cliche hehe! I’ve noticed that the best cookies come out when you wait for them to cool off. The bite becomes more mouth-watering and tastier after. See, there is really a waiting period in everything. If you want the best in the end, you’d have to give room for time to do its work on things until it becomes good enough for the taking. πŸ™‚

3 Comments

Filed under roaming and ranting

3 responses to “Weekend Cookies

  1. Galing hehe, penge naman. πŸ™‚ O

  2. wow! seem tasty to me πŸ™‚

  3. Idetrorce

    very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
    Idetrorce

Leave a Reply

